Welcome to the website of writer John Connors.
Here you'll find some details about my Heart of the World YA novels including background info and extras. Thanks for visiting, John. 
Twitter: @JohnConnors100   Blog www.thiswayupzine.blogspot.com


Blue Sky Black Ebook-1 - Draft).jpg



Dark Nature

The fifth Heart of the World novel

Deep inside the mountain known as Devil’s Peak, a group of misfit scientists’ amazing plan to solve ecological problems is threatened by an elemental menace with dangerously different ideas. As Tom Allenby tries to stop this new threat to mankind, he faces the most serious peril of his fifteen year old life. Things will never be the same again. In his toughest, most personal adventure yet can Tom save the world and those closest to him? Or will humanity fall to the storm of the century?

Available May 2021 from Amazon

Kindle ebook available now... 

Paperback available...

Blue Sky Black

The fourth Heart of the World novel.

When Tom Allenby, the 14 year old boy who can control the elements, sees metal objects and cars rising into the air one night he knows he is facing a powerful enemy. The trail leads to stolen magnetic stones, sinister experiments in an old country house, and a village hiding a secret. As each of his friends faces challenges of their own, can Tom fight a force which knows all about them? Somehow they must overcome what divides to stop the world being plunged into crisis.

Available August 2018 from Amazon

Paperback or Kindle version available here

Check out the dedicated Blue Sky Black page......

The Spectres of Winter

The third Heart of the World novel

In the thrilling third adventure Tom Allenby faces a double threat. In the depths of a freezing winter, Harrow Hill school is overrun by a force which can control ice. Meanwhile a super evolved subterranean group emerge with a plan that threatens the whole world.  Trapped and isolated can Tom and his friends overcome the dangers in time?  Or will the Spectres of Winter win?

This is the third novel in the Heart of the World series set in the village of Rooksbourne where the world’s natural energy is stored. Using an ancient rock called the Earthstone, Tom Allenby can control the elements but has much to learn as he takes on powerful figures who have their own powers.

Print Version @ £8.51

Kindle Version @£1.64 or free for Kindle Unlimited subscribers


Living Things


Deep in Rooksbourne Woods an ancient power threatens humanity.

Thirteen year old Tom Allenby is an ordinary boy who has been given an extraordinary gift that enables him to control the elements. 


In his second incredible adventure he and his friends face a new danger.


Is the girl in his class who seems to have similar power a friend or foe?
What has happened to all the wildlife in the woods?
Who is the mysterious figure in a cloak made of leaves?
What is causing pupils at School to become violent?

Tom faces danger at every turn as he struggles to save the world.


Available to buy in print or e-book formats from Amazon - just choose one of these links-


Print version


Ebook version for Kindle





The first novel in the Heart of the World Series

Thirteen year old Tom Allenby is plunged into the adventure of a lifetime when he moves to the village of Rooksbourne where nothing is what it seems. With the help of new friends and a mysterious stone that gives him new powers Tom battles deadly over-sized animals, plants and birds as he races to stop a plan that threatens the whole world.

Mixing fantasy, mystery and myth Elemental is the exciting first book in the Heart of the World series!


Available to buy in both paper and digital edition from Amazon!